Student Arts Journalism

Day Eight supports an annual student arts journalism competition for undergraduates enrolled or recently enrolled at DC-area colleges and universities. The Student Arts Journalism Challenge is designed to identify and support talented young arts journalists.

Arts journalism is a crucial link between artists and audiences. Without quality review of artistic work, new artists may never find their audience, and audiences may never find meaningful arts experiences. Changes to the business structures of professional journalism make it harder to develop a career as an arts journalist.

Washington Post visual arts critic Michael O’Sullivan wrote:

“At a time when the future of arts journalism—indeed, the future of journalism itself—is at stake, Bourgeon’s Student Arts Journalism Challenge offers encouragement to the next generation of arts journalists, along with a reminder that the arts, and those who write about them, still matter.”

The competition is free to enter, and the Bourgeon editorial team selects three to five finalists whose work is then judged by a team of professional arts writers. To learn more about the competition and read past entries, visit Bourgeon Online here.

2021 Competition
Finals judges included Jennifer Harlan (New York Times) and Kayla Randall (National Public Radio).
Winner – Olivia Kozlevcar (American University) for her article AU Alum Isman Khan Tackles Tough Topics in Her Short Film ‘Disturbed’

2020 Competition
Finals judges included Peter Marks (Washington Post), Holly Smith (Washington Independent Review of Books), and John Stoltenberg (DC Metro Theater Arts).
Winner – Nyah Hardmon (Howard University) for her article Stranger Than (Science) Fiction.

2018 Competition
Finals judges included Erin Devine (Washington City Paper) and Diane Charnov (Renwick Quarterly).
Winner – Gabriel Falk (Howard University).

2017 Competition
Finals judges included Sarah Kaufman (Washington Post) and Mark Lieberman (Northwest Current).
Winner – Anying Guo (American University) for her article Updraft America.

2016 Competition
Finals judges included Sharmilla Ganesan (Malaysia Star), Jeanette Catsoulis (New York Times), and Maura Judkis (Washington Post).
Winner – Adena Maier (American University) for her article Bloom Mirror.

2015 Competition
Finals judges included Christina Cauterucci (Slate), Rachel Sadon (DCist), and author/journalist Gareth Branwyn.
Winner – Mark Lieberman (American University) for his article Inside Out: Mind’s Eye.

2014 Competition
Finals judges included Philip Kennicott (Washington Post, 2013 Pulitzer Prize for Criticism), Tyler Green, and Lisa Gold (Washington Project for the Arts).
Winner – Sean Stempler (Georgetown University) for his article Human After All.

2013 Competition
Finals judges included Philip Kennicott (Washington Post) and Philip Hutinet.
Winner – Roxanne Goldberg (George Washington University) for her article Hairy Confrontations: a Review of Sonya Clark’s Solo Show.

2012 Competition
Finals judges included Lewis Segal (Los Angeles Times) and Leonard Jacobs (Clyde Fitch Report).
Winner – Julia Lloyd George (Georgetown University) for her article Leibovitz Journeys from Lennon to Landscapes.

2011 Competition
Finals judges included Michael O’Sullivan (Washington Post) and Anne Midgette (Washington Post).
Winner – Caroline Klibanoff (Georgetown University) for her article Arcade Fire: The Suburbs.