Day Eight is excited be partnering again with Washington Project for the Arts to support seven local artists in creation of articles related to the upcoming exhibit, “Hothouse: imPRINT”. Day Eight founder Robert Bettmann served as juror to select the artists for the publication/exhibit which opens Thursday May 7, 2015 at the Capitol Skyline Hotel.

The project was made possible through a generous grant by the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities to Robert Bettmann as an individual artist.

Read the articles by clicking on the links here:

Michael Fischerkeller writes about his art-history inspired artwork in “Due Process”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/03/due-process-by-michael-fischerkeller/

Rebecca Silberman writes about living in a primary school and her music-inspired artwork in “Modern Music Boxes”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/04/modern-music-boxes-by-rebecca-silberman/

Silvie van Helden writes about her recovery from personal tragedy and her Ukiyo-e inspired artwork in “The Ungrounded Course”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/04/the-ungrounded-course-by-sylvie-van-helden/

Maryanne Pollock writes about recreating the imagery and energy of egyptian Bedouin tents in “White Desert”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/04/white-desert-by-maryanne-pollock/

Fallon Chase writes about validating the visual language of teenage girls in “Little Girly Worlds”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/05/little-girly-worlds-by-fallon-chase/

Damon Arhos writes about his experiments treating his paint like rain in “Windows”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/05/windows-by-damon-arhos/

Jennifer Pizzillo writes about her life in Pittsburgh in “Salted Trickery”: http://bourgeononline.com/2015/05/salted-trickery-by-jennifer-pizzillo/

Image at the top of the post is “Rotation 7 – Suspension” (2015) by Sylvie van Helden.

Check out the FB invite from Washington Project for the Arts for the exhibit opening here.